This lesson will show how you can share one of your Favorite Folders with either individuals or groups of individuals. You can specify if the Users may 'maintain' their own versions of the folder - thus allowing them to delete and add elements to their copy.
When you share a folder, all options which you have set including sorting and summary comparisons will be propagated to folders you have shared. Users are free to alter these options for their own version to control Digest frequency and contents.
After initial sharing, any tiles added or deleted from your folder, will cause the same elements to be added or deleted from all shared folders.
Changes made to the various display option for the Digest will not be propagated to those already sharing the Favorites folder. There is also an option, 'Re-Share' that allows you to completely replace the shared folder(s) with all new options and elements. Please note: this will remove any changes that other users have made to their version of the shared folder.
Users are restricted to sharing Favorite Folders with those Groups of which they are members. There is an additional restriction that only administrators can share folders with the 'Default Group'.
See more on the options available for summary comparisons at Customize the Summary Section of your digest
1. Open Your Preferences Editor
Hover over your name on the Home Page to display the Preferences link
2. Scroll down to Favorites Section and select Share icon
- Activate the Share Icon for folder you wish to share
3. Click the 'Add' button
4. Complete 'Share Favorite' pop-up
- You may use the 'Share as' field to select a different name for your folder when it appears on other user's Home Page. This name must be unique across the system. For example, the 'My Favorites' name needs changed because other users also have this default folder name. The folder name will not change on your Home Page
- Toggle between User and Group to vary the pick-list in next field
- A Pick-list of either all Users, or all Groups of which you are a member, will appear for selection (NOTE: 'Default Group' will only appear in Pick-list for Admin Users)
- You may allow others to update the contents of this folder on their own Home Page if you wish. Please see details regarding this at Implications of Sharing a folder that other can maintain
5. The Share list pop-up will be populated with your choices
You can repeat this process to add more users and groups
6. Your folder will now appear on their Home Pages with a different name
- When another user hovers-over the folder name on their Home Pages, the system will display that the folder is owned by you.
In this example, Steve may now add elements of his choice to this folder and may even delete the elements you originally put there.
NOTE: In order for Steve to receive an e-mail update daily for elements in this folder, he must have edited his Preferences to receive Digests: see Requesting a Daily Favorites Digests